1 March

Welcome to March. My appointment isn’t until March 28. I thought it was a month earlier, but I checked my phone and there it is. Okay. Bring it on.

I have recolonized my sister’s old room. My desk is still in there, afterall, though it’s got things on it that aren’t mine. Having a separate space to do work in was helpful, and I don’t care about people’s griping when they don’t even use the space. I’m not taking up room that anyone else needs, so I don’t see why anyone should resent me for it.

With that in mind, I have gone through my “draw fifty animals” book and written dates in order starting with the first of the year. I did draw a few of the animals in it, but not on any schedule like I was originally planning. I’m thinking I can draw two per day, and put the date on each drawing, so I can see how much I’ve caught up and how much I have yet to do. Then I can get the other books and finish out the year.

So ambitious.

I got my poems workshopped, and I got a lot of positive feedback which pleases me to no end. A few, it seemed, knew what they were talking about. I do think there were some people who were more impressed by my knowledge of the technical vocabulary of poetry than by my skill with a pen. Technical vocabulary is not an area we covered much in class, maybe because we didn’t find it necessary. An odd perspective to me. I mean, most people don’t need to know what a carburetor is–I certainly don’t, but I can still operate a vehicle. But if you’re actually working on cars, you kind of do need to know. Maybe there’s something wrong with it, or maybe the problem is somewhere else in the car–you need to be able to say that. You need words in order to communicate that, especially if you’re working on a team. That’s not something we really think about happening with writing–we like to imagine that creativity is individual and alone–but isn’t that exactly how a workshop works? Isn’t that afterall why it’s called a “writers’ workshop?” It’s a team effort, and for it to succeed words are important. I bet you nine times out of ten, when someone has called me “smart” it’s because I know words. Now, don’t get me wrong, I am totally brilliant. But knowing words is just practical. Words are things you can’t do without. You can’t talk without words. Why do so many people view them as these mysterious contrivances that reveal their mysteries to only a select chosen few? I haven’t been chosen by anybody. I learned those words myself–ripped them from the page with my own hands. Words don’t make you smart. They make you communicate.

Words words words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 1 March

  1. “Words don’t make you smart. They make you communicate.”

    What a great sentiment. I wish words were enough and one didn’t also have to account for intent and make an interpretation and have to formulate a response… being a people is the worst.

Leave a Reply

