So wrote a flash/shirt story (directly on the borderline of 1000 wds) and today I found out it placed first of three in a contest I entered. I mean, there were only two other contestants, and I looked at the third-place entry, and it was kinda pro-forma, but I still placed first so it’s not like there’s no bragging rights at all. Really, I’m mostly only entering for the reviews anyway. Maybe I should try and get them some publicity if they can only find three entries. Eh fuckit. I’m allowed to be pleased about this.

It was a fun story, though. I wrote it for a prompt in another contest (still ongoing) where you get a set of random prompts and build your own prompt out of them. Link here, if you wanna see: http://fav.me/darvs33 So out of what I got, I constructed a prompt of 1000 words, in epic genre, and a few other things I worked in in perfunctory fashion. Since I already had an idea that was sort of floating around, plus epic genre is practically the topic of several classes I’ve taken, I figured I could turn the random nonsense percolating in my consciousness into an actual piece. I really should spend more time writing, honestly. (also revising but never mind that my lad I wish to complain about this parrot what I purchased not half an hour ago from this very boutique)

I’m also seriously considering making a new facebook account. To the point I logged out and had started typing in fake names. I dunno I really like making secret identities, to the point where I wonder if it’s actually really really peculiar that I don’t do comics. Because to my understanding that’s a pretty common thing with comics. Secret identities, you know. Furgather is back up and the baby furs are all either far less offensive than they were a month ago or just on ignore, but there’s just more people on Facebook and it’s easier to have a conversation and meet people on social media. Or so I’m told. Plus it would be a space where I can act bisexual without my parents finding out. And mention some things I’ve had on my mind for a while but I’m not sure I want to say anything about.

Cuz you know, even closed groups on FB if they let me join they could theoretically allow anyone to join that I know. And there’s this fellow I knew in middle school who wants to get in touch with me for some reason and I haven’t been allowing him to and I don’t really know why, to be honest. I don’t know why I’m resistant and I don’t know why he wants it. Maybe I should just go ahead and let him talk to me. I have shaken free of the suspicion that anyone I don’t know to be someone else is automatically Fat Bastard, but still, for someone who gets lonely like I do people really aren’t my thing. I want people and I don’t want them. Or maybe I want people but I don’t want those. Those being almost everybody. I’m a contradiction. Or a bad person. Or a crazy person. Or a sensitive person with too many bad experiences that I still manage to feel guilty about trying to avoid repeating.

So I wanna end on a high note here, since I’m generally feeling kinda good, so I’ll mention one of the stories I was supposed to read in my workshopping group is kinda really entertaining. I mean, the language needs a lot of work, and there’s a few things I think could be done more subtly, but I’m not even finished with it and I’m already extremely entertained http://fav.me/dab8zeq Called “The Wicked Stepsisters” it’s a fairy-tail retelling from the evil perspective.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to

  1. Also, the journal announcing the winners links to my story, but the link is broken–there’s some extra nonsense in the HTML target, so it doesn’t point to anything. I wonder if it would be more gracious to leave it alone or should I let them know?

Leave a Reply

