I think I just took sides against someone who says that they are suicidal. I am a bad person.

But…I don’t think I’m wrong here. This person consistently verbally savages anyone who tries to talk to them, and I refuse to engage with it. I think it’s a mistake to use amateurs on internet forums as a substitute for professional counselling. Someone who might even need medication. And letting them insult other board members is a non-solution, and I think it just led to someone getting a temporary banhammer. I mean, if you’re going to have rules, they have to apply to everybody. The internet forum isn’t a free-for-all, and if we’re going to make allowances for some people’s fragility, shouldn’t we do it for everyone? What if you’re suicidal yourself, and you see someone who says they have the same problem you do, so you try to reach out and help…maybe if you can help then there’s some kind of hope for you…and they respond by telling you you’re the worst human being alive. Wouldn’t that make you feel like you should go ahead and get it over with already? And he actually insinuated that the other person should kill themselves. I don’t think this is right. I think we should tighten up moderation on our so-called support threads, assuming we even decide to keep them at all. They shouldn’t be a place where you can go and insult people.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

