yay journal

So the process of going through all my old papers and notebooks and looking for alphabets I made up and copying them has been a slow one, not because it takes a long time to do it, but because I haven’t been doing very much of it.  Meh, maybe later today I’ll get on it and upload a few more.  The biggest problem is actually that I have to borrow my dad’s scanner since mine is broken.  I’m still undecided about how to redress that.  I could buy a new one, but the one I have is actually a four-in-one printer-scanner-copier-fax that still prints, so I can’t just throw it away.  I’ll think of something, I guess.  Since my sister has moved out, I’ve been talking with the parents about turning her old room into an art studio and I’m thinking of setting up a new computer in there that’s not connected to the internet, so I can work on stuff without getting distracted.  Which I do.  A lot.

I have been watching a ton of Star Trek: TNG, and also doing a lot of cooking.  So far I’ve made two different succotash recipes, one ratatouille, and some spaghetti sauce with leftover squash and eggplant from the ratatouille.  Fun stuff, except right now I have two rather large dishes of leftovers in the fridge which have five vegetables in common, all five of which are in the spaghetti.  Maybe I should make more succotash?

I ordered a  book which finally arrived today called Drawing for the Absolute Beginner.  I’m happy to start trying some of the excercises in it.  I’ve been bearing down pretty hard on pure contour drawing of photographs and I suppose I’ve gotten halfway decent at it but I’m getting bored.  I want to start making original drawings of things that might not technically exist.  And, really, copying a photograph is conceptually rather dull.  I have ideas.  Things I’ve seen in dreams, things I’ve thought up as jokes.  Situations and locations.  Things that have informed some of my writing, but a lot of it stays there in my head.

I’ve been awake during the day, which is kinda odd for me, but I’m finding that without huge piles of homework that need to be finished by OMG TOMORROW I don’t have a lot of motivation to stay up late.  I still have some, though.  I’m not, like, sick or anything.  I just go to sleep earlier now.  This is too bad for my dog, because I usually prefer to walk him late at night when it’s cooler out and there’s fewer people staring at me, but I think today is a good day for him to go to the park.  Whee!

I also feel sometimes that I have no talent at all for writing conclusions.  I’m okay in the middle, but I just can hardly tie anything up.  I’m really bad at it.  It’s annoying.

That’s about all for now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to yay journal

  1. I’ve always wondered if ratatouille is any good…I’d like to try it someday, but I’m too lazy to learn to make anything. x_x

Leave a Reply

