Getting ALL the books

Got my textbooks today.

Holy crap.

Two books for Latin Lyric Poetry (Horace and Catullus)

One book for Midieval Latin (Passiō Sanctārum Perpetuae et Felīcitātis)

Two books for German Literature and Cultures (Emil und Die Detectiv and Momo, both in German haha)

Aaaand Seven books for Women in American Lit.  Yeah.

I also grabbed three books not for class.  One is by bell hooks, because I see her referenced a lot in the feminist stuff I read.  It’s called Teaching to Transgress, which was kinda like seeing a punk album called Bad Music for Bad People, only imagine I was a punk instead of a metalhead.  Also, I currently have a punk album in my mostly metallic library called Bad Music for Bad People.  I don’t know if that explains how I felt.  But I think it might.  I could have compared it to seeing a thrash metal song called “Metal Storm” except that’s a Slayer song, so it’s probably too obvious.  I’ve noticed that her name is literally never capitalized, so there is something deliberate going on there, and I’m very curious.

I picked up Stephen King’s On Writing, because hearing about how to write stories from authors I’ve never heard of seems like a pointless exercise.  I have to take their word for it on everything, and at least two of the textbooks I’ve been subjected to have completely unironically suggested (actually, one of them said it outright) that well-drawn believable characters make a story somehow not scifi/fantasy/horror/whatever other type of book you have decided on your own unimpeachable authority “doesn’t count as real literature” (Sorry, I guess I’m still sore about that).  There was even one “author” who had the exact same name as a famous British historian, but whose name was not connected to anything fictional, nor anything to do with creative writing at all except the text we used in class.  The historian’s wikipedia page does not list the textbook in his bibliography.  I have to suspect a fraud.  Bird by Bird was pretty good–it was an enjoyable read, and I feel like the suggestions did help me.  But Anne Lamotte is not an author whose fiction I’ve actually encountered, so it’s basically pure theory.  I’ve seen Stephen King in action, and he also writes the sort of thing I would actually read, so I feel like he’d be speaking more directly to me.  (not, like, personally.  you know what I mean.  I’m not a creep!)

Finally, I also grabbed Foundations of Buddhism, since that’s something I’ve been interested in for a very long time.

And after all of this, I ended up signing up for a fifth class.  Roman Paleography, which, to be fair, is only offered once every three or four years, so I kind of had a gun to my headon that one.  Imagine missing my chance to take this class.  Nope.  So tomorrow I’m going to have even more books that I need to buy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Getting ALL the books

  1. On writing is not so bad. I disagree with some of King’s assessments of what kind of characters he writes, but that’s just me.

    • I’ll keep that in mind as I’m reading it. Granted, in his second foreword, he does say, “This is a short book because most books about writing are filled with bullshit.” I kinda laughed when I read that.

  2. I’d forgotten about that. It’s pretty accurate though.

Leave a Reply

