So this week I retyped an assignment from memory like a bawce.  I think it’s kinda funny, except I slipped something in there at three or four in the morning that…might be misunderstood.  It’s in the form of an audio transcript, and I didn’t include incidental sounds–only speech.  So.  It’s not like it’s getting workshopped in its present state (or even necessarily at all) but going back and thinking about it, I could have made a different choice.  Also, the thing it’s coming off of is probably a lot funnier.  And they’re both too long to be smooshed together.

Also.  My textbook quoted the dictionary at me.

Like, omg why.

I don’t know why people think that makes them sound authoritative.  I think it makes you sound like a high-school student.  It tells me two things, and they might not even be true.  But this is what it says to me:

  1.  You don’t have direct experience with this concept.  If you can’t explain to me in your own words based on your own experience what the terms you are using refer to, then I find it hard to believe that you have had that kind of experience.
  2. You didn’t research your topic very well.  If you are writing about astrophysics, and you quote me the Miriam-Webster definition of spaghettification in it, I have to wonder why you couldn’t have used Neil DeGrasse Tyson’s definition.  Weren’t you looking for it?  It’s on youtube, you know.  It could be any topic, of course, but there will always be at least one person who can explain the terms used; after all, these are words that they themselves use and in the relevant context.

(Spaghettification is an actual science word, by the way.  Which I think is absolutely wonderful)

A dictionary can document the existence and the content of a particular professional jargon, and they can certainly do a good job at it, but they’ll never understand it in the same way as people who actually work in that field.

It seems I spend a lot of time ranting and complaining, doesn’t it?

There is a new kind of tea that I am drinking.  It’s very good.  I read “Girl” by Jamaica Kincaid.  I was really impressed by it.

Also, I drew a thing:

wolf on water

I think it is better than numerous other things I have drawn.  But it could be better than it is.  I used a photo reference.  But the photographer was not credited for some reason.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

