Sore feet. Too much walking. I miss the days when I could just park and then get to class on time provided I arrived within ten minutes of class starting and then come home.  It’s also been cutting into my sleep time, trying to get to campus early enough to find a spot.

Well.  I think I have found a place to park that is technically free.  It’s a twenty-minute walk to class, but I don’t have to pay, and when I get back to my car I can have pizza.  Which really makes me wonder why I got a parking pass.  I wonder, since it’s the parking lot for a pizza place that opens ten minutes before class, if I would be tempting fate to just park there every time, but it’s for customers and I’d be a customer.  Plus, because of a weird rule that says I have to have a meal plan of some kind if I take three or more classes, I’ve got money on my student ID card that I can (probably) use for pizza.

The meal plan is three hundred dollars, and all the parking pass gets me is the chance–maybe–to park in a garage during the afternoon.

Also, I think these old shoes of mine might be too small.  There is a hole in the toe on one shoe, but they haven’t completely worn out yet, so I feel this need to keep on wearing them even though I have two newer pairs which are both larger.  But then, I end up wanting to take my shoes off at some point during the day anyways.

My creative writing professor has this thing call “engfish” where if he thinks your vocabulary is too elevated he marks it.  I don’t know how much he counts off for each one, but he flagged me when I used the word “emit.”  As in, “The car beside me begins emitting country music.”  Personally, I thought it was a fun contrast with the back vowels I used to describe my own music, which “roared from my stereo.”  I don’t choose my words idly.  Although I guess I can get a bit silly sometimes….

And now I have this urge to find some way of squeezing the verb “emit” into everything that I turn in for this class.  Maybe that’s a bad idea, I dunno.  But seriously, emit?  Really?  I could understand perspicacity, but emit is everywhere.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to

  1. I think maybe it was marked because it gives a certain detached tone to that sentence that a word like “blare” could better mask. Saying that the truck emitted country music sounds like Spock stating a fact, but saying that the country music blared from the truck’s rolled-down windows sets a different tone and gives the reader cues to react to.

    • Okay, that makes more sense.

      • It’s kind of weird to me that your instructor marks stuff like that without giving more specific explanations as to why a different wording might change it. Idk.

      • Yeah, it is totally weird. He even “explained” what an engfish was in class, but his explanation basically amounted to “don’t say whilst.” I figured I could avoid words like “perspicacity” and do okay, but apparently not. Dictionary.com rates emit as one that “most English speakers would probably know this word.” I don’t know if I should bring that up. Screw it, though. I’m going to. It seems there ought to be at least one place I can go to consult whether the word I’m using is appropriate.

      • Well, the other problem is that word appropriateness is totally dependent on what you’re writing and what your goals are. Even in creative writing. If you *wanted* a narrator to come off as being told by a Spock-like character, you would use vocabulary that came off as more technical and detached, and you would use relatively few contractions and more formal grammar, overall. After all, there *is* a place for this sort of thing.

Leave a Reply

