Well that was the most exhausting failure I’ve had in a long time. 

Someone I know from the Green Party was having a get-together at their house, which is fine but it’s kind of a party night in Knoxville tonight (which I didn’t realise til I got downtown) but he was offering beer and as an alcoholic I kinda wanted to avoid that situation.  Well, someone I need some files from was also going to be there, so I decided to go and asked him to take his computer along.  He said he would.  So I drove on down, and when I got to Summit Hill I realised my mistake. 

No no no no no no. 

People walking everywhere.  Cars all over the place.  The parking garage I was going to use was closed, and Gay street was moving at glacial speed anyway.  I finally escaped Gay street, and made it to my target street where there was another parking lot I could use.  Found a spot, and man the sidewalks were crowded.  I was already shivering with stress by then, but I took a moment to gather my thoughts, and grabbed a water bottle and got out of my car.  Walked along there, with my GPS set because I couldn’t see anywhere that someone would logically live.  When I got to where it told me to go, I looked around and still couldn’t see anything.  I called the guy I needed to see, but he didn’t answer.  Well, I hung around on the corner for a minute, wondering if he’d call back.  Then strolled along a bit.  Suddenly, I looked up and there was the exact address I was meant to be looking for.  Alright.  Maybe this wouldn’t be a total waste of time afterall.  I went into the building, and there were two apartments, with social-gathering-noise coming from behind one of the doors.  So that’s the one I knocked on.  I waited, knocked again.  Still nothing.  Okay.  I checked my phone, and it was after nine thirty.  Okay, I’ll give it two more minutes, or until the next lull, then knock again.  If I still get nothing I’ll take off.  Then just as I was about to knock again, I heard two beer cans open, and I realised full force just how much I shouldn’t be there. 

I’m an alcoholic, with autism, and social anxiety, and already very stressed out.  There is no way I’m ever going to fit in with these people, not tonight, not ever.  So I turned around and went back to my car.  I sent an apologetic message to my guy, then went to Stephanos and ate the shit out of some pizza.  And that was that. 

Waste of fucking gas. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

Leave a Reply

