Well, then

I thought I had a fourth of July post on here, but apparently I deleted it without posting.   I probably typed it, then walked away so I could come back and edit it, and then shutdown my computer and went to bed.  LibreOffice has spoiled me. 

My parents went to Baltimore Thursday before last, while my youngest sister went to New York with her boyfriend.  That left me here by myself until yesterday.  One of the few times I get to cook naked.  I took my speakers downstairs, plugged them into my laptop, then I put this song on.  I made something which I think is pretty cool.  I got two cans of tomatoes, a half-pound of chicken strips, two bell peppers, an onion, garlic, oregano, and a blend of random “Italian spices.”  I made a sort of meatless spaghetti sauce, then cut the chicken up into bite-size pieces and fried them in a pan ’til they were white on the outside.  Then I spooned the sauce over the chicken and let it boil down.  Then I made spaghetti, and poured the contents of the pan over it.  Damn it was good.  I’ve also got a big pot of beans and rice, which has too much rice and not enough beans.  And no tomatoes.  Don’t know why I made that decision; I love tomatoes.  I’m getting hungry now.

It’s also not raining for the first time in over a week.  I guess that’s good.  I’m experimenting with soil; since I don’t have a compost bin, I’ve placed old food that was going to get thrown out anyway in a mixture of clayey local earth with a little potting soil mixed in.  I’ve got a green onion that I bought from the store stuck down in it.  The top has died, but I don’t see any other changes.  I’m starting to think I should just go out and get actual bulbs intended for growing…nah, that’s crazy talk.  Last week should have been good for fungus, I guess.  But now it’s time for the life-giving heat of the sun to energize the rest of the decomposers.  Or just dry the whole thing out and everything will die.  Whatever.  That clay is really rough stuff.

Tonight, it is the monthly meeting for the Knoxville Green Party.  I will be attending, to talk to them about initiative and referendum.  I’m still not sure what the hell I’m going to say about it.  I’ve been doing research off and on about it, and I’ve written two and a half letters.  The half a letter is to the weekly standard.  Despite living with one, I’m finding it hard to sneak into the mind of a conservative.  I decided to focus on Obamacare as an issue, since it’s still relatively unpopular (face it, limousine liberals, people don’t like being told what to do, even if it’s to buy insurance) and I myself am not the die-hard fan of it that so many of the Democrats are.  Another letter is to Wendy Davis, and the other is to Michael Shure.  I’ve sent both of these.  No response.  Neither one are people I should be writing to, anyway, but it’d be nice to see some interest.  Oh well. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

